Prior to the bill being signed into law by Governor Cuomo, the bill had to pass on the Assembly floor and the Senate floor. On June 16, 2016 the Senate Floor Vote was 60 aye, 2 nay. The 2 nay votes belonged to Senator John DeFrancisco (R) near Syracuse and Senator Robert Ortt (R) near Rochester.

On June 16, 2016 the Assembly also voted and the results were 138 aye, 2 nay. These 2 votes belonged to Assemblyman Robin Schimminger (D) near Buffalo and Assemblyman Michael Fitzpatrick (R) from Smithtown in Suffolk County, Long Island.

With all the MTA employees that reside in or have family in Suffolk County, one has to wonder about Assemblyman Fitzpatrick’s logic.¬†Perhaps when he runs for re-election or for another office, we will remember that he didn’t support us. His picture is included with this post.